Selective Artists

Loading Music ...

VÖK

(IS)

‘Figure’ is a word whose meaning twists and transforms in different contexts: a figure in the darkness, to figure something out, a number, a body type, a sum, a shape. No wonder Icelandic four-piece Vök, whose atmospheric electronic pop is similarly capable of eclectic twists and changes, picked it as the title for their daring debut album. Full of distorted pulses, near-whispered melodies, echoing guitars and dreamy hooks, and influenced by everything from The Weeknd and Little Dragon to existential sci-fi cinema, their ambitious first full-length spans a whole spectrum of sounds and feelings. “Anger, obsession, negligence, death, love, happiness and hope,” lists vocalist Margrét, who began the band with saxophonist Andri Már in snowy, beautiful Reykjavík in early 2013. “The word figure can represent so many things. So does this album.”

For Vök, Figure has been three life-changing years in the making. After winning Icelandic rising talent contest Músíktilraunir within months of forming, the group – instrumentalist Ólafur Alexander and new addition Einar Stef on drums – marked themselves out as innovative makers of smart, smouldering jams on 2015 EP Circles. Hailed by Noisey as “channelling the Beach soundtrack via 1980s synth pop and the modern sexiness of The Knife,” that EP won them plenty of praise, but was “a very electronic and computer-based release,” the band reflect now. With Figure, the goal was to merge their cold, spectral electronic sound with something more human. “We took the music out of the computer and into a more live and organic environment.”

“We want this record to take us beyond Europe,” say the group, who describe having to “get out of our comfort zone” on this album. “We dream of experiencing Japan. North and South America are also places we strive to visit.” The most important thing to Vök however is that “we managed to create an album full of songs that we all connect to and care about, which means a great deal to us.” Brave, warm and emotional, Figure just might end up meaning a great deal to you too.

Tour Dates

Show Dates
Show Past Dates Hide Past Dates
Past Dates
Date City Venue
03.03.16
DE - Berlin Musik & Frieden
04.03.16
DE - Hamburg Häkken
05.03.16
DE - Köln Artheater
20.08.16
DE - Hamburg MS Dockville Festival
27.04.17
DE - Hamburg Uebel & Gefährlich (Turmzimmer)
02.05.17
DE - Köln Artheater
05.05.17
DE - Berlin Badehaus Szimpla
Upcoming Dates
Date City Venue
09.07.17
DE - Bremen Breminale Festival

Artist Links

Presskit

Selective Artists

Loading Music ...

VÖK

(IS)

“Figure” ist ein Begriff, dessen Bedeutung auch für Transformation und Bewegung in verschiedenen Kontexten steht: Ein Schatten in der Dunkelheit, ein Körper, eine Summe, eine Form. Kein Wunder, dass die isländische vierköpfige Band VÖK, deren sphärischer Elektro-Pop ebenso für verschiedene elektronische Formen und Ausführungen steht, diesen Titel für ihr Debütalbum gewählt hat. Voller verzerrten Pulsen, flüsternden Melodien, hallenden Gitarren und verträumten Hooks und beeinflusst von Künstlern wie The Weeknd und Little Dragon sowie Sci-Fi Kinofilmen, umfasst ihr ambitioniertes erstes Album ein ganzes Spektrum an Sounds und Gefühlen. “Wut, Obsession, Vernachlässigung, Tod, Liebe, Fröhlichkeit und Hoffnung”, listed Sängerin Margrét auf, die VÖK Anfang 2013 mit dem Saxofonisten Andri Már im verschneiten Reykjavík gründete. “Der Begriff “Figure” steht für so viele Dinge. Ebenso wie unser Album.”

Für VÖK, bedeutete die Entstehung von “Figure” drei Jahre voller Veränderungen und besonderen Erlebnissen. Nachdem sie den isländischen Nachwuchswettbewerb „Músíktilraunir” nur wenige Monate nach ihrer Gründung gewannen, schlossen sich Instrumentalist Ólafur Alexander und Schlagzeuger Einar Stef an. Gemeinsam produzierten und veröffentlichten sie ihre erste EP „Circles“ 2015, auf welcher sie sich als innovative Musiker mit schwelenden, intelligenten Klängen präsentierten. – Noisey beschrieb die Musik der Isländer als eine Hommage an den „The Beach Soundtrack mit seinen 1980er Synthie-Pop Tönen und den modernen Klängen von The Knife“. Die EP brachte ihnen viel Lob ein, war aber zugleich eine sehr „Elektro- und Computerbasierte Platte”, wie die Band nun reflektiert.

“ Wir wollen, dass dieses Album uns über die Grenzen von Europa hinaus bringt”, sagt die Band, „heraus aus der Comfort Zone. Wir träumen davon, Japan zu entdecken. Nord und Südamerika reizen uns auch.“ Das wichtigste bleibt für VÖK am Ende dennoch, dass sie es geschafft haben “ein Album voller Songs zu schaffen, mit denen wir uns alle identifizieren können und die uns etwas bedeuten. Das bedeutet uns die Welt!“ Mutig, warmherzig und emotional – „Figure“ könnte am Ende auch für seine Hörer ein wichtiges und ergreifendes Album werden.

Termine

Termine anzeigen
Vergangene Termine anzeigen Vergangene Termine ausblenden
Vergangene Termine
Datum Stadt Venue
03.03.16
DE - Berlin Musik & Frieden
04.03.16
DE - Hamburg Häkken
05.03.16
DE - Köln Artheater
20.08.16
DE - Hamburg MS Dockville Festival
27.04.17
DE - Hamburg Uebel & Gefährlich (Turmzimmer)
02.05.17
DE - Köln Artheater
05.05.17
DE - Berlin Badehaus Szimpla
09.07.17
DE - Bremen Breminale Festival
Kommende Termine
Datum Stadt Venue
17.09.17
DE - Darmstadt Golden Leaves Festival
18.09.17
DE - Hannover Bei Chéz Heinz

Artist Links

Presskit