Selective Artists

The Dears

(CAN)

THE DEARS, a critically acclaimed “orchestral-pop-noir-romantique” rock’n’roll band from Montréal, is the lifework of Murray A. Lightburn. Son of a jazzmanturned-preacher, Lightburn’s attunement to songwriting was shaped equally by nineties rock and a broad tableau of gospel, soul, and pop music.

The band formed in 1995 and released their first album, End of a Hollywood Bedtime Story, in 2000. Their orchestral, dark pop sound and dramatic live shows cemented THE DEARS at the foundation of the then-emerging Canadian indie renaissance. In 2001 and 2002, they released the EPs Orchestral Pop Noir Romantique and Protest, respectively, as well as a collection of unreleased songs, Nor the Dahlias. In 2003 they released their second full-length album No Cities Left, and a string of highly anticipated shows at SxSW ’04 launched their international career. Gang of Losers was released in 2006, and was well received by the press.

THE DEARS‘ music has been described as a cross between The Smiths and Serge Gainsbourg with Lightburn’s singing voice being likened to Morrissey as well as Blur’s Damon Albarn. The complexity of the music and arrangements has also been compared to Radiohead, Jethro Tull and early Genesis. THE DEAR’S powerful live shows have been described as: “…the sonic equivalent of seeing the face of God.”

Gang of Losers was named to the Short List for the 2007 Polaris Music Prize, and the follow-up Missiles was released in 2008. THE DEARS‘ fifth studio album, Degeneration Street, was a Long List nominee for the 2011 Polaris Music Prize. Their latest project, Times Infinity, is a two-volume album recorded at Thee Mighty Hotel2Tango in Montreal, with release in Europe to be announced soon.

Tour Dates

Show Dates
no current shows.
Show Past Dates Hide Past Dates
Past Dates
Date City Venue
16.02.17
DE - Berlin Privatclub
17.02.17
DE - Hamburg Nochtspeicher

Artist Links

Contact

Ralf Diemert

Presskit

Selective Artists

The Dears

(CAN)

THE DEARS, eine Rock’n’Roll Band aus Montréal, ist das Lebenswerk von Murray A. Lightburn. Als Sohn eines Jazz-Priesters wurde Lightburns Songwriting vom neunziger Rock und einer breiten Palette von Gospel, Soul und Popmusik geformt.

Die Band wurde 1995 gegründet und sie haben ihr erstes Album, End of a Hollywood Bedtime Story, 2000 veröffentlicht. Ihr orchestralischer, dunkler Popsound und ihre dramatischen Live Shows zementierten THE DEARS in der aufkommenden kanadischen Indie Renaissance. 2001 und 2002 haben sie die EPs Orchestral Pop Noir Romantique und Protest veröffentlicht, sowie eine Kollektion von unveröffentlichten Songs, Nor the Dahlias. In 2003 haben Sie ihr zweites Album No Cities Left veröffentlicht und eine Reihe von hoch geschätzten Shows bei SxSW‘ 04 starteten ihre internationale Karriere. Gang of Losers wurde 2006 veröffentlicht, und wurde von der Presse sehr gut angenommen.

Die Musik von THE DEARS wurde als ein Mix von The Smiths und Serge Gainsbourg beschrieben, Lightburns Stimme in Verbindung gebracht mit Morrissey und Blur’s Damon Albarn. Die Komplexität der Musik und der Arrangements wurde außerdem mit Radiohead, Jethro Tull und Genesis verglichen. Die starken Live Shows von THE DEARS wurden wie folgt beschrieben: “…es ist wie als würde man Gott ins Gesicht schauen.“

Gang of Losers wurde 2007 für den Polaris Musik Preis nominiert, und der Nachfolger Missiles wurde 2008 veröffentlicht. Das fünfte Studioalbum von THE DEARS, Degeneration Street, wurde 2011 ebenfalls für den Polaris Musik Preis nominiert. Ihr neuestes Projekt, Times Infinity, wurde in dem Thee Mighty Hotel2Tango in Montréal aufgenommen, die Veröffentlichung in Europa wird bald angekündigt.

Termine

Termine anzeigen
Keine aktuellen Termine.
Vergangene Termine anzeigen Vergangene Termine ausblenden
Vergangene Termine
Datum Stadt Venue
16.02.17
DE - Berlin Privatclub
17.02.17
DE - Hamburg Nochtspeicher

Artist Links

Kontakt

Ralf Diemert

Presskit