Selective Artists

Loading Music ...

JULES AHOI

(DE)

For more than ten years the German-born artist Julian Braun aka JULES AHOI has been living his life according in tune and rhythm with the ocean. In summer he used to earn his living as a surf instructor, in winter he worked as a musician and songwriter. This environment formed the special musical genre the band JULES AHOI has dedicated itselve to – they call their characteristical folky style “Saltwaterfolk”. A deep, wide sound inspired by the sea, which is not only the reason for innumerable road trips, but also for Jules’ decision to relocate to the south of France in spring 2015. Here he created songs that convey the lifestyle and feelings of a runaway and invite the listener to dreams of endless summers and nights in a VW campervan.

The idea for the first EP “Between Lines” was created at the beginning of 2015 when Jules went to the French Atlantic coast for a surf-lifesaving course. The waves were good and the time and people in France inspired him so deeply that he spontaneously decided to throw in his studies in order to stay there and live in his van, living the dream. The French winter with its loneliness, deserted beaches and waves gave him enough inspiration for loads of songs about his life as a dropout. Various magazines called him “the embodiment of the ‘modern gypsy’ – who at the same time has beautiful stories to tell of his life. Jules’ life definitely tastes of salt on the skin and sun in the soul” (coldwatermag.de).

JULES AHOI consisting of Julian “Jules Ahoi” Braun (Vocals, Guitar), Lotta Holtei (Vocals, Keys), Michael Röhrig (Guitar, Banjo), Joris Geisselbrecht (Bass), Max Altmeyer (Drums), Johannes Rüther (Drums) and Maria del Mar Ribas (Cello), played a first tour of Germany in response to popular demand only one month after the release of the seven song EP “Between Lines”. Including headlining shows at the Surf & Skate Festivals 2016 in Hamburg and Cologne, JULES AHOI could present themselves to a wider public for the first time and already gained their first international experience with a show at the Pines & Beach Festival in France.

The continuing demand for live performances finally led to the band moving their base back to Germany and beginning to plan a second tour of Germany. Since then, the band has been “on the road” and played 100+ shows in Germany and the Netherlands with highlights like the opening of the Music Fair Festival in Frankfurt, the Surfana Festival (NL), Pines & Beach Festival (FR), Pangea Festival (GER) and two shows as support for the british number 1 artist Newton Faulkner. One of the highlight of the tour so far happened on the 2017 Reeperbahnfestival in Hamburg where the organisators of the festival had to stop the inlet to the venue due to too many people wanted to attend the concert of the band.

At the moment the band is working on their debut album with Gießen-based producer Thomas Eifert. It will be released 2019.

Tour Dates

Festivals & Open Airs 2019 / Echoes Tour 2019

Show Dates
Show Past Dates Hide Past Dates
Past Dates
Date City Venue
14.04.19
DE - Mannheim Peer23
25.05.19
DE - Münster JuWi Fest Münster
27.05.19
DE - Köln Yuca (ausverkauft!)
28.05.19
DE - München Milla (ausverkauft!)
29.05.19
DE - Berlin Musik & Frieden (ausverkauft!)
30.05.19
DE - Hamburg Nochtspeicher (ausverkauft!)
10.06.19
FR - Seignosse adh-Open Wellenreiten
15.06.19
DE - Köln Zusammen Leuchten Festival
Upcoming Dates
Date City Venue
17.08.19
DE - Gießen Stadtfest
25.08.19
DE - Köln Gamescom City-Festival
31.08.19
DE - Hamminkeln Cheesecake Festival
18.09.19
DE - Hamburg Reeperbahn Festival
15.10.19
DE - Essen Zeche Carl
16.10.19
DE - Köln Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld
17.10.19
DE - Münster Gleis 22
18.10.19
DE - Mainz Schon schön
19.10.19
DE - Stuttgart Keller Klub
24.10.19
DE - München Hansa 39
26.10.19
DE - Nürnberg Club Stereo
27.10.19
DE - Berlin Badehaus
28.10.19
DE - Hannover Lux
30.10.19
DE - Erfurt Kalif Storch
31.10.19
DE - Dresden Altes Wettbüro

Artist Links

Contact

Hanna Rose

Presskit

Selective Artists

Loading Music ...

JULES AHOI

(DE)

Seit inzwischen mehr als zehn Jahren richtet der aus Deutschland stammende Musiker, Songwriter und Surfer Julian Braun alias JULES AHOI sein Leben nach den Gezeiten des Ozeans. Im Sommer verdiente er seinen Lebensunterhalt als Surflehrer, im Winter als Musiker und Songwriter. Diese Umstände waren es, die den so charakteristischen, folkigen Sound der 2016 gegründeten Band JULES AHOI prägten, mit ihrem eigens entwickelten Genre „Saltwaterfolk“. Musik inspiriert vom Meer, welches nicht nur seit Jahren der Grund für unzählige Roadtrips ist, sondern auch für die Entscheidung, im Frühjahr 2015 nach Südfrankreich auszuwandern. Hier entstanden Songs, die das Lebensgefühl eines Ausreißers wiedergeben und dabei zum Träumen einladen – von endlosen Sommern, von Lagerfeuern, von wunderschönen Nächten im VW-Bulli.

Der Grundstein für die Debüt-EP “Between Lines” wurde Anfang 2015 gelegt, als Jules für einen Rettungsschwimmer-Lehrgang an die französische Atlantikküste fuhr. Die Wellen waren gut, und die Zeit und die Menschen in Frankreich inspirierten ihn so sehr, dass er sich kurzerhand dazu entschied, sein Studium aufzugeben und dort zu bleiben, um fortan in seinem Bulli zu wohnen. Der französische Winter mit seiner Einsamkeit, menschenleeren Stränden und Wellen gaben ihm genug Inspiration für eine Vielzahl an Songs, die von seinem Leben als Aussteiger handeln. Diverse Magazine betitelten ihn bereits als “Inbegriff des ‚Modern Gypsies’ – der zudem noch schöne Geschichten aus seinem Leben zu erzählen hat – Jules’ Leben schmeckt eindeutig nach Salz auf der Haut und Sonne in der Seele” (coldwatermag.de).

JULES AHOI bestehend aus Julian „Jules Ahoi“ Braun (Gesang, Gitarre), Lotta Holtei (Gesang, Keys), Michael Röhrig (Gitarre), Joris Geisselbrecht (Bass), Max Altmeyer (Drums) und Johannes Rüther (Drums), sowie Maria del Mar Ribas (Cello) spielten auf Grund der hohen Nachfrage bereits im Juni 2016 eine erste deutschlandweite Tour – nur einen Monat nach dem Release der sieben Song starken EP “Between Lines”. Als Headliner auf den Surf & Skate Festivals 2016 in Hamburg und Köln konnten sich JULES AHOI erstmals einem breiten Publikum präsentieren und verschaffte der Band erste internationale Erfahrungen mit einem Auftritt auf dem Pines & Beach Festival in Frankreich.

Die anhaltende Nachfrage nach Live-Auftritten veranlasste die Band schließlich, ihre Basis zurück nach Deutschland zu verlegen und die Planungen für eine zweite deutschlandweite Tour aufzunehmen. Seitdem spielten JULES AHOI & The Deepsea Orchestra bereits mehr als 100 Konzerte in Deutschland und den Niederlanden mit Highlights wie z.B. der Eröffnung des Musikmessefestivals in Frankfurt, Surfana Festival (NL), Pines & Beach Festival (FR), Pangea Festival sowie zwei Shows im Vorprogramm des britischen Nummer 1 Musikers Newton Faulkner. Einen der Höhepunkte der seitdem andauernden Tour feierte die Band mit einem überfüllten Gig auf dem Reeperbahnfestival 2017.

Momentan arbeitet die Band mit dem Gießener Produzenten Thomas Eifert an Ihrem Debutalbum, welches voraussichtlich 2019 erscheinen wird.

Artist Links

Kontakt

Hanna Rose

Presskit