Selective Artists

Loading Music ...

JAMES CHATBURN

(AUS)

In 2015 Australian singer-songwriter and producer JAMES CHATBURN moved across the globe to explore life as a musician in Berlin. During this time, JAMES released very few pieces, giving listeners a glimpse of what to expect, while he made music from a small room in a dilapidated old office building, left over from the years of the German Democratic Republic.

In the time JAMES has been living in Europe, he has supported The Internet on their German tour, he was invited to take part in Redbull Music Academy’s Bass Camp 2017, collaborated with Grammy-nominated Jordan Rakei, and featured on certified gold single “Higher” by Australian hip-hop legends Hilltop Hoods.

With his current and second sophomore EP “Damen”, he explores soul, blues, rock and electronic music. Off-kilter, neo-soul joint “In The Wild” leads the EP as the third and final single release, possessing of a raw, analogue sound, slow hip-hop inspired grooves, and borrowed classical motifs. The counter melody derived from “In The Hall Of The Mountain King”, works as an almost Dr. Dre style riff, meshed in with distorted guitars, brass and 60’s sounding delays. After years of writing music with nothing more than a pen and a guitar, JAMES CHATBURN has successfully manoeuvred his way into the world of production with the completion of “Damen” in November 2017. The lyrics concentrate on themes of inhibition and body movement while flowing with a more rhythmic emphasis.

Partly recorded in Redbull Studio’s Berlin, the EP blends band style performance and arrangement with electronic beats and synths, forging a rhythmic soulful style, with a lo-fi indie sensibility. Often compared with singers such as John Legend and James Blake, he not only boasts overdriven blues guitar styling’s when performing, but makes use of synthesizers and effects, displaying a dexterity of genre inline with peers such as Jordan Rakei, Gabriel Garzon Montano and Nick Hakim.

Artist Links

Presskit

Selective Artists

Loading Music ...

JAMES CHATBURN

(AUS)

Bereits 2015 überquerte der australische Singer-Songwriter JAMES CHATBURN den Ozean, um das Leben als Musiker in Berlin zu erkunden. Während dieser Zeit veröffentlichte JAMES zwar nur wenige Stücke, gab seinen ZuhörerInnen aber so bereits einen Einblick in seine Zukunftspläne, während er in seinem kleinen Zimmer in einem alten, heruntergekommenen Bürogebäude aus der DDR-Zeit weiter an seiner Musik schrieb.

In seiner Zeit in Europa hat JAMES unter anderem The Internet auf ihrer Deutschlandtour begleitet, durfte Teil des Redbull Music Academy’s Bass Camps 2017 sein, arbeitete mit dem Grammy-Nominierten Jordan Rakei zusammen und wurde auf der mit Gold ausgezeichneten Single „Higher“ der australischen Hip-Hop Legenden Hilltop Hoods gefeatured.

Mit der aktuellen zweiten EP „Damen“ greift er Elemente aus Soul, Blues, Rock und elektronischer Musik auf. „In the Wild“ führt die EP als unkonventionelle, neo-soulige und letzte Singleauskopplung mit einem rohen, analogen Sound, langsamem Hip-Hop, inspirierten Grooves und klassischen Motiven an. Die Gegenstimme, abgeleitet aus dem Orchesterstück „In the Hall Of The Mountain King”, begegnet einem als Riff im Dr.Dre Style, gemixt mit verzerrten Gitarren, Bläsern und typischen 60er Jahre Delays. Nach vielen Jahren des Songwritings mit nichts anderem als einem Stift und einer Gitarre, hat sich JAMES CHATBURN mit dem Release von „Damen“ im November 2017 auch erfolgreich in die Welt als Produzent manövriert. Die Lyrics fließen mit einer rhythmischen Betonung dahin und widmen sich den Themen der Befangenheit und Körperbewegung.

Die EP, die teilweise im Redbull Studio Berlin aufgenommen wurde, verbindet Performance und Arrangement im Bandstil mit elektronischen Beats als auch Synths und formt so einen rhythmisch souligen Stil mit einer schlichten Indie-Sensibilität. Oft verglichen mit Sängern wie John Legend und James Blake, rühmt JAMES CHATBURN sich nicht nur mit übersteuerten Blues-Gitarrenstylings, sondern nutzt auch Synthesizer sowie Effekte und zeigt Feingefühl und Fingerfertigkeit, wie es in diesem Genre mit Kollegen wie Jordan Rakei, Gabriel Garzon Montano und Nick Hakim vergleichbar ist.

Artist Links

Presskit