Selective Artists

Loading Music ...

Bachar Mar-Khalife

(FR)

Bachar Mar-Khalifé is a French-Lebanese singer, composer and multi-instrumentalist. He studied at the music conservatory in Paris and worked with conductors like Lorin Maazel and James Gaffigan as well as the orchestra national de France and the ensemble intercontemporain.

He also did a lot of projects with artists like Carl Craig, Francesco Tristano, Bojan Z, Murcof or Kery James at the borderline of Jazz, World Music, Electronic and HipHop. He was born in the war-destroyed Lebanon as the son of the legendary musician Marcel Khalifé. Rami Khalifé from the Band „Aufgang“ is his brother.

The Parisian already released two albums at InFiné Music: Oil Slick in 2010 and Who’s Gonna Get The Ball in 2013. He also worked as a film composer for movies like Layla Fourie by Pia Marais or Fièvres by Hicham Ayouch.

On his third album Ya Balad („O Homeland“), which was released on the 16th of october 2015, also with InFiné Music, Bachar Mar-Khalifé tells us about light and shadow in his relationship with Lebanon: the painful loss of the physical closeness through his french exile, but also the nostalgic memories that tie him to the good side of Lebanon – the sweet taste of evaporated milk, the smell of coffee over an open fire, croissants with a taste of thyme, the smell of Baladi-soap or the roughness of a Loofah-sponge.

Tour Dates

Show Dates
no current shows.
Show Past Dates Hide Past Dates
Past Dates
Date City Venue
29.06.16
DE - Lärz Fusion Festival

Artist Links

Contact

Dennis Krause

Presskit

Selective Artists

Loading Music ...

Bachar Mar-Khalife

(FR)

Bachar Mar-Khalifé ist ein französisch-libanesischer Sänger, Komponist und Multi-Instrumentalist. Er studierte am Musikkonservatorium in Paris und hat u.a. mit den Dirigenten Lorin Maazel und James Gaffigan sowie mit dem Orchestre national de France und dem Ensemble intercontemporain zusammengearbeitet.
Dazu kommen viele Projekte mit Künstlern wie Carl Craig, Francesco Tristano, Bojan Z, Murcof oder Kery James an den Schnittstellen von Jazz, World Music, Elektronik und HipHop. Geboren wurde er im vom Krieg zerstörten Libanon als Sohn des legendären Musikers Marcel Khalifé. Rami Khalifé von der Band Aufgang ist sein Bruder.
Zwei Alben hat der in Paris lebende Künstler schon bei InFiné Music veröffentlicht: Oil Slick aus dem Jahr 2010 und Who’s Gonna Get The Ball aus dem Jahr 2013; außerdem hat er als Filmkomponist für Filme wie Layla Fourie von Pia Marais oder Fièvres von Hicham Ayouch gearbeitet.
Auf seinem dritten Album Ya Balad („O Homeland“), das am 16.10.2015 ebenfalls bei InFiné Music veröffentlicht wird, erzählt uns Bachar Mar-Khalifé von Licht und Schatten seiner Beziehung zum Libanon: dem schmerzlichen Verlust der körperlichen Nähe durch sein französisches Exil, aber auch den nostalgischen Erinnerungen, die ihn mit dem Libanon verbinden – dem süßen Geschmack von Kondensmilch, Kaffeeschwaden über einem offenen Feuer, Croissants mit Thymiangeschmack, dem Duft von Baladi-Seife oder der Rauheit eines Loofah-Schwamms.

Termine

Termine anzeigen
Keine aktuellen Termine.
Vergangene Termine anzeigen Vergangene Termine ausblenden
Vergangene Termine
Datum Stadt Venue
29.06.16
DE - Lärz Fusion Festival

Artist Links

Kontakt

Dennis Krause